Perception (2013)

For wind band
Commissioned by OBK Bennekom
First performance on the 3rd of November in the Junushoff, Wageningen.

In late 2010, I got the idea for a new piece for concert band. My idea was to make a suite in 5 movements, entitled “Senses”, in which every movement would represent one of the 5 senses. I wrote the first movement and tried it out once on a rehearsal with OBK Bennekom, the wind band I played in at the time. After this rehearsal, I got busy with other projects and had to quit working on the piece. In early 2012 I started working on the project again and my teacher at the time, Calliope Tsoupaki, suggested that I would rewrite the first movement. I rewrote it; using some of the material I used in the first edition, but unfortunately had to quit working on it due to other projects halfway through 2012.

In early 2013, it became clear that OBK Bennekom would participate in the KNFM contest in November of that year. They had to choose one work from a list and they could choose one for themselves. The conductor, Ghislain Bellefroid, asked me if I wanted to finish “Senses” for this contest. After some discussions with my teacher, Willem Jeths, I decided to let go of the idea of the five senses, but to write a piece about the more general idea of perception and the many aspects and beauty of it.

“Perception” is a work which tells about the process, the different aspects and the beauty of perception. The first movement, “Impulse”, is packed with all different kinds of impulses from all over the orchestra, which make a colourful complex of different impressions. The second movement, “Correspondances” is based on the poem with the same name by Charles Baudelaire, in which the poet is overwhelmed by all kinds of different impressions from nature, which seem to take each other’s aspects and give the poet an ecstatic experience. The last movement, entitled “Reflex”, describes different shock reactions, which emerge from unexpected impulses. The 3 movements are preceded and strung together by a progression of 12 chords, which represents signals which travel through our nerves and the continuous presence of perception.

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes:

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>